How to factory reset MacBook Pro and MacBook Air [2022]

There might be a reason why you want to factory reset MacBook Pro and MacBook Air. However, the most common reason is that if you are trying to sell your MacBook, it is better to perform a factory reset on your MacBook Pro or MacBook Air. The reason is very simple, you don’t want to give your personal files to a stranger. When you perform a factory reset on your MacBook Pro or MacBook Air, you erase all personal data such as files and settings that you have configured on your computer. This way, your accounts and files are safe and you don’t have to worry about security and privacy at all.

Not everyone is trying to sell their MacBook Pro or MacBook Air, there could be performance issues. Suppose your computer is lagging, not working properly, you have applied all the speed techniques you find on the web and run on your own computer and still no response. The only last option left is factory reset. Thus, the reasons may vary depending on the request of the person.

Table of contents 

  • Factory reset MacBook Pro and MacBook Air
  • Back up your important files
  • Sign out of iCloud
  • Access Recovery Mode
  • Erase disk
  • Conclusion

Factory reset MacBook Pro and MacBook Air

There are five steps that you must perform 100% in order to factory reset your MacBook Pro and MacBook Air.

  1. Back up your files and your application.
  2. Sign out of iCloud.
  3. Visit recovery mode.
  4. Erase everything on our computer.
  5. Reinstall macOS on your MacBook Pro or MacBook Air

1. Back up your important files

Factory reset means that everything on your computer is going to be deleted except for the main operating system which is pre-installed. Since this step is really important, you should copy or backup all your important files to cloud or external hard drive. It doesn’t matter which method you prefer the most. However, if you use The Time Machine to back up, you can follow the steps below to back up your important files. Much like Windows File History, macOS has a pre-installed backup app called a time machine. You can just run it, connect your hard drive, and boom, you can regularly back up your files.

See also  Asahi – The Linux of the new Macs

Steps to back up your files using Time Machine.

  1. Depending on the size of your files, attach an external hard drive to the computer.
  2. At the top, left-click on the apple icon and choose system preferences.
  3. In the system preferences look for The Time Machine.
  4. And once The Time Machine has started, click on “Select Backup Disk”.
  5. Select the backup drive which is the external storage you connected earlier. Now you have to wait for the files to be saved in the external storage. You can also configure settings such as encryptions.

Once Time Machine has backed up all your files, after performing a factory reset on your MacBook Air or MacBook Pro, you can use The Time Machine to restore your files and apps.

2. Sign out of iCloud

If you plan to sell your MacBook Air or MacBook Pro, remember to sign out of iCloud services. Services like Messages, iTunes, App Store, etc. So please keep in mind that this is a very important step that must be done at all costs.

Steps to sign out of iCloud services:

  1. Open System Preferences again by clicking the apple icon in the upper left corner.
  2. Once System Preferences is open, you need to click on Apple ID. This is if your Mac’s operating system is macOS Catalina or later. However, if it’s not Catalina, it’s an older version then instead of the Apple ID you’ll see their iCloud, click on that.
  3. Once the Apple ID is open, click on the Preview tab and at the bottom you will see the sign out button, click on it.
See also  How to insert a capital letter with accent on Mac (À, É, È, Ç, ...)
Sign out of iCloud

Steps to sign out of iTunes:

  1. If you’re using macOS Catalina or later, open the music app. However, if you are using macOS Mojave and earlier versions, you need to open iTunes.
  2. Go to account in the menu bar and choose permissions.
  3. Next, click Deauthorize this computer.
  4. Then enter your Apple ID and password and select deauthorize.
Sign out of iTunes

Steps to sign out of messages:

  1. open the messaging app.
  2. Under Messages, menu click Preferences.
  3. Switch from the General Settings tab to the iMessage tab.
  4. There you will see your Apple ID and a sign out button, click on it.
Log out of Messages

3. Access Recovery Mode

number three is to access recovery mode on your MacBook Pro or MacBook Air. To access recovery mode on Macbooks with Intel processors, and Macbooks with silicon chips known as M1 are different.

  • If your MacBook has an Intel processor, restart your computer, then hold the plus command or on the keyboard until you see the Apple logo. After the Apple logo, it will take you to recovery mode.
  • If your MacBook has a silicon chip, turn off your MacBook and just hold down the power button for a while and it will take you straight to recovery mode.

4. Erase disk

Since you want to factory reset your MacBook Pro or MacBook Air, you need to erase the disk. And it can be done from the Mac OS utility tools. Before starting the step-by-step guide, make sure you are connected to the internet.

Steps to wipe disk:

  1. Select the last option which is Disk Utility
  2. Once Disk Utility is selected, click Continue and then erase the disk.
  3. Also, partition the disk as desired. Suppose you want the APFS filesystem, go ahead. Not to mention that there are other file systems such as journaled Mac OS Extended.
  4. Keep in mind that you can name the disk whatever you want.
See also  How to Find Files of Particular Types and Extensions on Mac
Erase disk

5. Reinstall macOS on your MacBook

I guess now everything went fine and now it’s time to reinstall mac os on your completely shut down macbook pro or macbook air to do that go back to mac os utility window and this time instead of select disk utility, select reinstall MacOS. The installation process will take some time and you need to be patient.

Reinstall macOS

Note: Remember, if you are trying to sell your MacBook Pro or MacBook Air to a seller or someone else, once this installation is complete, do not turn on your computer. And don’t configure your MacBook Pro or MacBook Air. You can easily press command + Q and shut down your Macbook. That way, when the person buys your Macbook, it will look like it’s a brand new MacBook Pro or Macbook Air, and they’ll ask you to set up the MacBook first.

Watch his video on YouTube.

Conclusion:

This step-by-step guide shows you how to easily factory reset a MacBook Pro or MacBook Air. I hope this article was helpful to you and let me know your thoughts on the order section.

5/5 - (1 vote)
SAKHRI Mohamed
SAKHRI Mohamed

The blog of a computer enthusiast who shares news, tutorials, tips, online tools and software for Windows, macOS, Linux, Web designer and Video games.

Articles: 3732

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.